Home 9 Elections 2022 9 Punjab 2022 9 Incumbent & former Punjab CMs trailing, heading towards defeat from their home turfs

Incumbent & former Punjab CMs trailing, heading towards defeat from their home turfs

by | Mar 10, 2022 | Punjab 2022

Three men who have been chief ministers of Punjab are trailing in the seats they are contesting.

By Saurabh Duggal

Punjab’s stalwart leader and five times Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal is trailing from his home turf Lambi constituency in the 2022 Punjab Vidhan Sabha elections.

He had represented the Lambi constituency for the four consecutive terms since 1997 and had remained the MLA for 1O times.

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate Gurmeet Singh Khudian is leading from the Lambi seat.

Shiromani Akali Dal patriarch Badal has the distinction of governing the state for a maximum number of times and for a longest stretch of 10 years and 15 days (2007 to 2017).

Losing from a home turf will be a big jolt for the political career of 94-year old Badal, as going by his age, senior Badal might have to end his electoral politics innings with a loss.

He was conferred with the Padma Vibhushan in 2015.

Two-time chief minister Captain Amarinder Singh, who floated his own political party Punjab Lok Congress after being removed unceremoniously from the post of chief minister last year, is trailing from Patiala seat.

Ajit Pal Singh Kohli of AAP is leading from Patiala constituency.

Captain Amarinder, who brought the congress into power in 2017 was removed in September last year.

Incumbent congress chief minister Charanjit Singh Channi, who became the state’s 16th CM on September 20, 2021, is trailing from both Bhadaur and Chamkaur Sahib.

In Bhadaur seat, AAP’s Labh Singh Ugoke is leading, while in Chamkaur Sahib, his name sake Charanjit Singh of AAP is leading.

First published by Pixstory

Website | + posts