Home 9 Elections 2022 9 Uttarakhand 2022 9 Pushkar Singh Dhami takes oath as chief minister of Uttarakhand

Pushkar Singh Dhami takes oath as chief minister of Uttarakhand

by | Mar 23, 2022 | Uttarakhand 2022

Uttarakhand chief minister Pushkar Singh Dhami took oath of office on Wednesday in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Dehradun.
PM Narendra Modi greeting Chief Minister Dhami
Pushkar Singh Dhami on Wednesday took oath as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand, at the Parade Ground,  in Dehradun. Prime Minister Narendra Modi was in attendance, along with Union Home Minister Amit Shah and Defence Minister Nitin Gadkari. 
The 46-year-old Dhami was chief minister in the outgoing assembly.
The BJP won the recently held Assembly elections despite indications of anti-incumbency in the state.
Dhami lost his Khatima seat to Congress candidate Bhuwan Chandra Kapri by a margin of 6,579 votes, but the BJP managed to 47 of the 70 seats in the Assembly.
The selection of Dhami as CM came after 11 days of suspense over who would be the next chief minister.
The MLAs who took oath as ministers include Satpal Maharaj, Dhan Singh Rawat, Subodh Uniyal, Premchand Agarwal, Rekha Arya, Ganesh Joshi, Chandan Ram Das and Saurabh Bahuguna.

BJP national president J P Nadda and chief ministers of BJP-ruled states Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana and Assam also attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Website | + posts