Home 9 UP Assembly Constituency 9 Sirathu Assembly Constituency

Sirathu Assembly Constituency

by | Feb 23, 2022 | UP Assembly Constituency

Sirathu assembly constituency is where deputy chief minister Keshav Prasad Maurya is contesting in 2022. He has been an MLA from the constituency 2012, but was the a seat held my his party's Sheetla Prasad.

Sirathu in Kosambi district where Keshav Prasad Maurya, deputy chief minister in the Adityanath cabinet, hails from here. Maurya represented the seat in 2012. He resigned when he was elected to the Lok Sabha in 2014 from Phulpur. In 2017, when the BJP rode home with a massive victory, Maurya resigned as MP and became deputy chief minister and got elected to the legislative council. 

Maurya’s rival is Sheetla Prasad of the Apna Dal (Kamerwadi) 

The constituency has a significant presence of Pasis (dalits), Patels (Kurmis, OBC) and Pandits (Brahmins). 

The constituency is a segment of the Kosambi Lok Sabha constituency. The other segments are Babaganj, which is part of Pratapgarh district; Kunda, also part of Pratapgarh; Manjhanpur and Chail. 

Interestingly, Sirathu’s first MLA was the Congress stalwart Hemvati Nandan Bahuguna, in 1962. 

In 2017, despite the SP candidate getting 52,418 votes that amounted to 26.97% in terms of vote share, the BSP candidate polled a creditable 43,782 votes or 22.52% vote share.

2022, thus, should be an interesting contest.

Website | + posts